Johnny Cash’s historic and just-released ‘At The Carousel Ballroom’ live album will be made available as part of a limited-edition Cash box set next month, featuring the 28-song performance on all-analog double vinyl alongside exclusive artwork, special LP design and rare collectibles from the era. Arriving on 14 January 2022, the box set release will offer a comprehensive multimedia look at this recently-unearthed Johnny Cash live performance; captured in the heart of hippie San Francisco by counterculture icon and “Wall Of Sound” pioneer Owsley “Bear” Stanley. Recorded in April 1968, only a few days before the release of At Folsom Prison and just months before the arrival of the equally-revered At San Quentin, ‘At The Carousel Ballroom’ serves as a third essential – and wholly unique – live document from Cash’s legend-making late 60s comeback. Released by BMG and the Owsley Stanley Foundation, the limited-edition box set for Bear’s Sonic Journals: Johnny Cash, At The Carousel Ballroom April 24, 1968 will include: 

* The 28-song collection released on exclusive psychedelic colored vinyl

* A retro re-print of the “Hello, I’m Johnny Cash” comic book

* Reproduction of the original 1968 concert poster from Steve Catron in his legendary signature style

* 12-page booklet with new essays giving context to the release from Bob Weir, John Carter Cash, Dave Schools and more.

* New original artwork by 3-time Grammy-winner Susan Archie


1. Cocaine Blues

2. Long Black Veil

3. Orange Blossom Special (CD and Digital only)

4. Going to Memphis

5. The Ballad of Ira Hayes

6. Rock Island Line

7. Guess Things Happen That Way

8. One Too Many Mornings

9. Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right

10. Give My Love to Rose

11. Green, Green Grass of Home

12. Old Apache Squaw

13. Lorena

14. Forty Shades of Green

15. Bad News

16. Jackson

17. Tall Lover Man

18. June’s Song Introduction

19. Wildwood Flower

20. Foggy Mountain Top

21. This Land Is Your Land

22. Wabash Cannonball

23. Worried Man Blues

24. Long Legged Guitar Pickin’ Man

25. Ring of Fire

26. Big River

27. Don’t Take Your Guns to Town

28. I Walk the Line