From the sounds of slapback echo, twangy Telecasters and swooning pedal steel, it’s clear that Scott MacKay has an affinity for country music of the 1950s and ‘60s. But the singer/songwriter from Charlottetown PEI also has a sharp wit that shines through on the 10 original songs that comprise his latest album Stupid Cupid, a collection that offers a fresh, modern take on classic country. Stupid Cupid features MacKay backed by his regular rhythm section of Josh and Sam Langille, along with renowned guitarist Grant Siemens and pedal steel master Burke Carroll. For MacKay, it’s his third album, and the first reflection of what he describes as getting bit by the classic country bug since his previous release. “I really became smitten with songwriters such as Shel Silverstein, Hank Williams, Bobby Bare, Roger Miller and others,” he says. “It made me focus my attention on improving my songwriting, and I tried to learn as much about it as I could. I took a lyric writing class, a storytelling class, and a creative writing class. I even took part in a songwriting workshop in Nashville where I got to meet and learn from some of the greatest songwriters in the world.”

1. Stupid Cupid
2. 11 Yellow Roses
3. Opposites Attract
4. Romance Novel
5. They’re Makin’ Love Below Us
6. Half Of Everything
7. Brand New Heart
8. When She’s Sleepin’ She’s Cheatin’

9. Breakup & Makeup
10. God Walks Into A Bar