My Girl The River are very pleased to confirm the release of new album Cardinal in the Snow on 1st May 2020. The album covers hope, love, death, prophecy and even a little bit of Nashville’s hot chicken. My Girl the River is Louisiana native and former Nashvillian Kris Wilkinson on vocals and guitar, British bassist/writer (Annie Lennox ‘No More I Love You’s’) Joe Hughes and sometimes daughter Ruby on ukulele and  harmonies.

Cardinal in the Snow, produced by Neilson Hubbard (Mary Gauthier, Amy Speace, Ben Glover) and engineered and mixed by Dylan Alldredge, was recorded in May 2019 in East Nashville at Skinny Elephant Studios. Joining Kris on vocals and acoustic guitar, Ruby on harmonies and ukulele and Joe on bass were some of Nashville’s finest: Will Kimbrough (Emmylou Harris, Gretchen Peters) on electric guitar, Juan Solorzano on lap steel, Danny Mitchell (Miranda Lambert) on piano, Kristin Wilkinson (Brandi Carlile, The Avett Brothers, Willie Nelson) on strings. In five days these songs were recorded, bringing in Lisa Oliver-Gray for additional background vocals, Jonathan Byrd for a part on The Last Branch along with Cara Luft (The Small Glories) adding a touch of banjo. Neilson kept the rhythm on drums. Kris co-produced.


1. Something in the Water
2. I Try
3. You Do Not Deserve My Tears
4. Christmas In July
5. Hot Chicken
6. Won’t Find Our Bones
7. Cardinal In The Snow
8. He Doesn’t Know He’s Gone
9. Needy
10. The Spark
11. Slow Mover
12. The Last Branch