North Carolina band Town Mountain has signed with New West Records and will release their new album Lines in the Levee on October 7th, 2022, featuring the first single and title track, out now. The 11-song collection was produced, engineered, and mixed by the multiple GRAMMY Award-nominated Justin Francis (Kacey Musgraves, Orville Peck, Anti-Flag) at Ronnie’s Place in Nashville, TN.
Town Mountain is the sum of all of their vast and intricate influences — this bastion of alt-country rebellion and honky-tonk attitude pushed through the hardscrabble Southern Appalachian lens of their origin. Lines in the Levee follows 2018’s acclaimed New Freedom Blues and is the first to feature the addition of drummer Miles Miller (of Sturgill Simpson musical lore).
Primary lyricist Phil Barker says the song “was written amid the social upheaval of 2020. Lyrically, I wanted the song to communicate that a change is coming for those who don’t have a voice or feel disenfranchised. Musically, I wanted the rhythm to have a similar intensity and make you feel like something is about to happen.” Taste of Country says, “The song provides hope and confidence in the face of uncertainty and fear from the last two years.”